2014 USA 3x3 National Championship
Colorado Springs, Colo.
May 9-11
2014 USA 3x3 National Championship
Colorado Springs, Colo.
May 9-11

Jenaro "Tuto" Marchand Honored As USA Basketball's 2012 Edward S. Steitz Award Winner

Colorado Springs • May 23, 2012

Longtime international basketball executive Jenaro “Tuto” Marchand has been selected by USA Basketball as the 2012 recipient of the Edward S. Steitz Award.  The Edward S. Steitz Award recognizes an individual for her or his outstanding contributions to international basketball. 
Marchand will receive the award at the USA Basketball Men’s National Team exhibition game against Dominican Republic on July 12 at UNLV’s Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas, Nev.  

The award is named in memory of Edward S. Steitz, a longstanding director of athletics at Springfield College, who was recognized worldwide as an authority on the rules of basketball. Steitz was an original architect and a past president (1969-74 and 1980-84) of USA Basketball predecessors, the Basketball Federation of the USA (BFUSA) and the Amateur Basketball Association of the United States of America (ABAUSA).

Currently the FIBA Americas Secretary General Emeritus after serving as FIBA Americas Secretary General from 1993-2006, Marchand served as FIBA's Vice President from 1980-1985.

“Tuto Marchand is most deserving of the Edward S. Steitz Award,” said Jim Tooley, USA Basketball CEO/Executive Director. “He has been a leader in the international basketball community and has devoted his life to our great sport. He is a man of his word and respected worldwide for his many contributions to the growth of basketball.”

Marchand graduated from the University of Puerto Rico with a B.A. in social sciences in 1955 and a law degree from UPR in 1960.

He was a referee for the Puerto Rico National league from 1956-58 and an attorney for the Saints of San Juan, a team that played in the highest league in Puerto Rico.

Edward S. Steitz
Award Winners
Year Recipient
2012 Jenaro “Tuto” Marchand
2009 Tom Jernstedt
2005 Russ Granik
2002 Borislav  Stankovic
2000 C.M. Newton
1998 George Killian
1996 Lee Plarski
1995 Dave Gavitt
1992 William Wall
1991 Clifford Fagan

After helping to organize the 1974 World Championship in Puerto Rico, Marchand was the national team general manger of the Puerto Rico basketball federation in 1976-78 and the federation president 1978-88.

From 1978-80, he served as the representative of the Basketball Federation to the Puerto Rico Olympic Committee.

He joined FIBA’s Central Board in 1980, and was President of Pan American Confederation, then known as COPABA, from 1987-1992.

Past recipients of the Edward S. Steitz Award include: the late Clifford Fagan (1964-1969 BFUSA, 1973-1977 ABAUSA president and Basketball Hall of Fame president); Dave Gavitt (1980 U.S. Olympic men’s basketball team head coach and 1989-1992 USA Basketball president); Russ Granik, (1996-2000USA Basketball president and former deputy commissioner and chief operating officer of the NBA); Tom Jernstedt (USA Basketball V.P. for Men, board member, V.P. and President, 1976-2004); George Killian (1976-80 ABAUSA president, 1990-98 president of FIBA and 1969-2004 executive director of the NJCAA); C.M. Newton (FIBA Central Board member, 1984 U.S. Olympic men’s basketball team assistant coach and 1993-1996 USA Basketball president); Lea Plarski (1980-84 ABAUSA vice president for women and 1990-96 president of the NJCAA); Borislav Stankovic (1976-2002 secretary general of FIBA); and William Wall (past USA Basketball and ABAUSA executive director, 1974-1992).

USA Basketball
Based in Colorado Springs, Colo., USA Basketball is a nonprofit organization and the national governing body for men's and women's basketball in the United States. As the recognized governing body for basketball in the United States by the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC), USA Basketball is responsible for the selection, training and fielding of USA teams that compete in FIBA sponsored international basketball competitions, as well as for some national competitions.

Since 2008, USA Basketball men’s and women’s teams have compiled a sterling 96-2 win-loss record in FIBA or FIBA Americas competitions. USA teams are the current men’s and women’s champions in the Olympics, FIBA World Championships; U19 and U17 FIBA World Championships; and U18 and U16 FIBA Americas championships. USA Basketball currently ranks No. 1 in all five of FIBA's world ranking categories, including combined, men's, women's, boys and girls.