menu close twitter facebook snapchat instagram youtube article basketball gallery graph left-arrow right-arrow search star trophy video net clipboard shield-check shield-star stopwatch filter reset Share




Shop Now USA Basketball

All-Time USOC Coach Of The Year Lists

  • Date:
    Jun 21, 2017

The United States Olympic Committee today announced its annual award recipients for 2016 national coaches of the year, and 2009-16 USA Basketball Women’s National Team head coach Geno Auriemma was named as a 2016 USOC Co-National Coach of the Year for guiding the U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Team to dominating gold-medal performance in Rio. Auriemma, the Hall of Fame coach at the University of Connecticut, shares the honor with Aimee Boorman (Sarasota, Fla.) from USA Gymnastics.

Below is the full listing of all-time USOC Coach of the Year award recipients.

National Coach of the Year

The National Coach of the Year is presented to a coach of an elite-level club, collegiate or national-level team, or the coach of an elite athlete who competes at the highest level of his/her sport.
1996 Tara VanDerveer, U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Coach
1997 Frank Carroll, Olympic figure skating coach of Michelle Kwan
1998 Ben Smith, U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey coach
1999 Chris Carmichael, Cycling Coach of Lance Armstrong
2000 Richard Quick, U.S. Olympic Women’s Swimming Team coach
2001-02 Pete del’Giudice, U.S. Snowboarding coach
2003 Lloyd Woodhouse, USA Shooting National Team coach
2004 Mike Candrea, U.S. Softball Women’s National Team coach
2005 Eddie Reese, U.S. Men’s National Swimming Team coach
2006 Bud Keene, U.S. Snowboarding coach
2007 Guy Baker, U.S. National Water Polo Team coach
2008 Hugh McCutcheon, U.S. Men’s National Volleyball Team coach
2009 Bob Bradley, U.S. Men’s National Soccer Team coach
2010 Brian Shimer, U.S. men’s bobsled head coach
2011 Rick Bower, U.S. Halfpipe Snowboarding Team coach
2012 Adam Krikorian, U.S. Women’s National Water Polo Team coach
2013 Erik Flora, Alaska Pacific University Nordic Ski Club head coach
2014 Skogen Sprang, U.S. Slopestyle Skiing Team head coach
2015 Craig Parnham, U.S. Women’s National Field Hockey Team head coach
2016 Geno Auriemma, U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Team head coach

Aimee Boorman, U.S. Olympic Women’s Artistic Gymnastics Team coach

Paralympic National Coach of the Year

The Paralympic National Coach of the Year is presented to a coach of an elite-level club, collegiate or national-level team, or the coach of an elite athlete who competes at the highest level of his/her sport.
2004 Mike Hulett, USA Women’s Sitting Volleyball Team coach
2005 Randi Smith, U.S. Paralympic Archery Team Head coach
2006 Julie O’Neill, U.S. Paralympic Swim Team head coach
2007 Adam Bleakney, U.S. Paralympic Wheelchair Track coach
2008 Ken Armbruster, U.S. Paralympic Women’s Goalball head coach
2009 Scott Moore, Denver Judo coach
2010 Ray Watkins, 2010 U.S. Paralympic Alpine Ski Team coach
2011 Dave Denniston, U.S. Paralympic Swimming head coach
2012 Tom Franke, U.S. Paralympic Swimming head coach
2013 Adam Bleakney, U.S. Paralympic Track & Field coach
2014 Brian Loeffler, Swimming, U.S. Paralympic Swimming Team coach
2015 John Devorss, Salem Tennis and Swim Club
2016 Adam Bleakney, U.S. Paralympic Track and Field coach

Developmental Coach of the Year

The Developmental Coach of the Year is presented to a coach at the youth club, high school or junior level, or a coach who is directly responsible for training athletes to reach the junior and/or elite level.
1996 Jeff Shaffer, University of Southern California
1997 Dianne Holum, Speedskating
1998 Mike Stafford, Millvale Golden Gloves Gym
1999 Tom Healy, Northbrook Speedskating Club
2000 Fred Zimny, Luge
2001-02 Mike Eaves, U.S. National Under-18 Hockey Team
2003 Bob Fraley, Fresno State University Track and Field
2004 Dwayne Miller, Norfolk Real Deal Track Club
2005 Tammy Gambill, U.S. Figure Skating
2006 Mark Mitchell and Peter Johansson, U.S. Figure Skating
2007 Paul Yetter, USA Swimming
2008 Rajul Sheth, Table Tennis
2009 John Wingfield, Director and Head Coach of USA Diving National Training Center
2010 Michael Nyitray, United States Bowling Congress
2011 James Hrbek, USA Judo
2012 Michael Nyitray, United States Bowling Congress
2013 Kathleen Johnston, USA Triathlon
2014 George Ryals, Archery Learning Center
2015 Brett Wolf, Menomonee Judo Club
2016 Kim Zmeskal-Burdette, USA Gymnastics

Volunteer Coach of the Year

The Volunteer Coach of the Year is presented to a coach who does not receive payment in any form for his/her involvement in coaching at any level.
2003 Carol Hardemon, Metro Dade Track Club
2004 Barry Hunter, Washington, D.C. Boxing coach
2005 Cindi Hart, IndySpeed Sport Club head coach (speedskating)
2006 Booker Woods, LA JETS head coach (track and field)
2007 Sherman Nelson, USA Taekwondo coach
2008 Rita Gladstone, Area Tennis League coordinator
2009 Brian McCutcheon, Oahu Taekwondo Center instructor
2010 Dave Farmer, Aurora Saracens Rugby Club coach
2011 Tom Waga, Brigham Young University Rugby coach
2012 Don Showalter, USA Basketball Men’s Developmental National Team coach
2013 Bienvenido “Benny” Roman, USA Boxing Training Camp coach
2014 Kathleen Stevenson, Oklahoma Storm Junior Olympic Archer Development Team coach
2015 Carl Cepuran, Glen Ellyn Speedskating
2016 Tom Miller, Adirondack Speedskating Club

Doc Counsilman Science Award

The Doc Counsilman Science Award recognizes a coach who utilizes scientific techniques and equipment as an integral part of his/her coaching methods or has created innovative ways to use sport science.
2004 Joe Vigil, USA Track & Field
2005 Dr. Kyle Pierce, USA Weightlifting
2006 Kate Arbour, U.S. Figure Skating
2007 Sean O’Neill, U.S. Paralympics Table Tennis
2008 Dave Bennett, USA Wrestling
2009 Heidi Thibert, U.S. Figure Skating and Edora Pool and Ice Center coach
2010 Dr. Grant Schaffner, U.S. Bobsled & Skeleton Federation
2011 Neal Henderson, USA Cycling
2012 Doug Eng, U.S. Tennis Association
2013 Gordon Uehling III, U.S. Tennis Association
2014 Dave Hamilton, U.S. Women’s National Field Hockey Team director of performance science
2015 Warren Pretorius, Tennis Analytics
2016 Derek Davis, USA Archery

Related Videos

April 14 marks 100 days until the start of the Tokyo Olympics. After a year of uncertainty, the future will be bright... hopefully golden.

Members of the 2021 USA Basketball Women's National Team gathered in San Antonio for a training camp March 30-April 2 ahead of the NCAA Final Four. These are some highlights from each day's post-practice media calls.

USA Basketball rang in the new year, which is full of promise and the long-awaited Tokyo Olympics, with this little teaser for our fans.

On Sept. 25 at the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games, Vince Carter slammed what likely was the most famous dunk of his career.

Dawn Staley, playing in her third Olympic Games, was elected by her peers - all U.S. team captains - to carry the flag and lead the U.S. delegation into the 2004 Opening Ceremony. She reflects back on her selection and what it meant to her.

Related Content

The USA Basketball virtual Memorial Day Weekend Workout is Just $10.

USA Basketball and Red Bull have partnered to create a unique training opportunity for the 2021 USA Basketball Men’s 3x3 National Team.

FIBA has announced the schedules for the 2021 FIBA 3x3 Olympic Qualifying Tournaments that will be held in Graz, Austria, and the USA Men’s and Women’s 3x3 National Teams will kick off play on May 27.

Tonight's men’s national team exhibition game re-air is from July 6, 1996, when the USA National Team was forced to rally to earn a 96-90 win over a USA Basketball Select Team of collegians.

Following four days of trials that featured 20 athletes, 13 finalists for the 2021 USA Basketball Women’s AmeriCup Team were unveiled.

Coach Licensing & Organization Accreditation Login

Forgot Password?