menu close twitter facebook snapchat instagram youtube article basketball gallery graph left-arrow right-arrow search star trophy video net clipboard shield-check shield-star stopwatch filter reset Share




Shop Now USA Basketball
Chet Holmgren

USA Basketball Names 2021 USA Nike Hoop Summit Team

  • Date:
    Mar 25, 2021

• Roster 

Featuring two gold medalists among a 14-member roster that all have prior USA Basketball experience, USA Basketball today announced the 2021 USA Nike Hoop Summit Team. Due to COVID-19, the 2021 Nike Hoop Summit game will not be played, but the team members joined a video conference on March 25 to learn of their roster selection for the first time.

The 2021 USA Nike Hoop Summit Team includes 2019 FIBA Americas U16 gold medalists Max Christie (Rolling Meadows H.S./Arlington Heights, Ill.) and Jabari Smith Jr. (Sandy Creek H.S./Tyrone, Ga.), alongside Patrick Baldwin Jr. (Hamilton H.S./Sussex, Wis.), Nate Bittle (Prolific Prep, Calif./Central Point, Ore.), Kendall Brown (Sunrise Christian Academy/Cottage Grove, Minn.), Kennedy Chandler (Sunrise Christian Academy/Memphis, Tenn.), Matthew Cleveland (Pace Academy/Milton, Ga.), Jackson Grant (Olympia H.S./Olympia, Wash.), Jaden Hardy (Coronado H.S./Henderson, Nev.), Chet Holmgren (Minnehaha Academy/Minneapolis, Minn.), Trevor Keels (Paul VI Catholic H.S., Va./Clinton, Md.), Kaden Perry (Battle Ground H.S./Battle Ground, Wash.), Hunter Sallis (Millard North H.S./Omaha, NE) and Peyton Watson (Long Beach Poly H.S./Long Beach, Calif.).

The coaching staff, which also was in place for the cancelled 2020 Nike Hoop Summit, is USA head coach Sharman White (Pace Academy, Ga.), with assistants Scott Fitch (Fairport H.S, N.Y.) and Stan Waterman (Sanford School, Del.).

“Despite the game not being able to be played this year, we are excited to recognize these elite players for their success during such a challenging year,” said Sean Ford, USA Basketball Men’s National Team director and chair of the USA Basketball Developmental National Team Committee, which is responsible for coach and athlete selection. “Each of these players are worthy of being part of the 2021 USA Nike Hoop Summit Team, and we look forward to them being part of national teams in the future.”

Nine of the 14 players have signed a National Letter of Intent for the 2021-22 NCAA season, including Bittle with the University of Oregon; Brown with Baylor University; Chandler with the University of Tennessee; Christie with Michigan State University; Cleveland with Florida State University; Grant with the University of Washington; Perry with Gonzaga University; Smith with Auburn University and Watson with UCLA.

All 14 players are listed on the ESPN 100 for the class of 2021, including No. 1 Holmgren; No. 2 Hardy; No. 3 Baldwin; No. 5 Smith; No. 9 Bittle; No. 10 Chandler; No. 12 Watson; No. 13 Sallis; No. 15 Christie; No. 19 Keels; No. 20 Brown; No. 30 Cleveland; No. 39 Grant and No. 72 Perry.

USA Basketball teams have compiled a 15-7 overall record in the Nike Hoop Summit.

The Nike Hoop Summit has been held annually since 1995, with the exception of 2001-2003, when the event was being reorganized, and in 2020 and 2021, when it was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In 2019, the USA got 25 points from Cole Anthony to help the American team to a 93-87 win, despite 28 points from the World Team’s Nicco Mannion.

In 2018, the USA could not overcome icy shooting and an international team record 60 rebounds and fell to the World Select Team 89-76. Darius Garland contributed 16 points and five assists, and Quentin Grimes added 15 points, six rebounds and four assists.

As of March 11, 2021, a remarkable 111 Nike Hoop Summit alumni were active in the NBA, including 73 former U.S. players and 38 former World team members.

Additionally, 30 former Nike Hoop Summit players are competing on the collegiate level in 2020-21, including 24 U.S. players and six World Team athletes.

An incredible 244 former USA or World team members have been drafted by NBA teams, including 15 players in the 2020 NBA Draft.

Thirteen Nike Hoop Summit alumni have been chosen as the No. 1 pick, and 82 players have been selected among the first 10 picks.

Recent No. 1 picks include: Zion Williamson (injured and did not play in 2019), DeAndre Ayton (Bahamas) in 2018, Markelle Fultz in 2017, Ben Simmons (Australia) in 2016, Karl-Anthony Towns (Dominican Republic) in 2015, Andrew Wiggins (Canada) in 2014, Anthony Bennett (Canada) in 2013, Anthony Davis in 2012, Kyrie Irving in 2011 and John Wall in 2010.

Eight players have gone on to earn NBA Rookie of the Year, including Simmons (2018), Towns (2016), Wiggins (2015), Irving (2012), Tyreke Evans (2010), Derrick Rose (2009), Kevin Durant (2008) and Elton Brand (2000-shared).


Related Tags:

Related Videos

While the game will not be played, a 14-member roster was announced for the 2021 USA Nike Hoop Summit Team. checks in with USA Junior National Team members Josh Christopher and Jeremy Roach.

Seven gold medalists are among the 12 athletes who will take on the World Select Team on April 10.

Tickets on sale starting Dec. 23.

Professor of Orthopedic Surgery Doctor Diane Dahm of the Mayo Clinic talks about working with USA Basketball's Junior National Team.

Related Content

The Nike Hoop Summit will return to Moda Center in Portland, Oregon, on Saturday, April 8, 2023. The Nike Hoop Summit will feature both a men’s and the inaugural women’s game with top American high school athletes facing off against a World Team of top international players 19-and-younger.

The USA earned a 102-80 win in the 23rd edition of the Nike Hoop Summit on April 8, 2022 in Portland, Oregon.

Images from the USA team at the 2022 Nike Hoop Summit.

  • Author:
    Sam Yip, Red Line Editorial
  • Date:
    Apr 9, 2022

Behind 19 points from Cam Whitmore and 17 from Dariq Whitehead, the USA defeated the World Select Team 102-80.

The late add to the roster is eager to show all he can do ahead of freshman season at Arkansas

Coach Licensing & Organization Accreditation Login

Forgot Password?