menu close twitter facebook snapchat instagram youtube article basketball gallery graph left-arrow right-arrow search star trophy video net clipboard shield-check shield-star stopwatch filter reset Share




Shop Now USA Basketball
2019 next gen group_1112x650

Forty-Six Athletes to Participate in USA Basketball Men’s Junior National Team Minicamp

  • Date:
    Mar 29, 2022

Note: On 3/29/22, this story was edited from its original version to reflect roster updates.

Forty-six athletes will participate in a USA Basketball Men’s Junior National Team minicamp from April 1-3 in New Orleans in conjunction with the 2022 NCAA Final Four. The minicamp includes participating in the NCAA Next Generation Sunday on April 3.

Minicamp participants and coaches were selected by the USA Basketball Men’s Developmental National Team Committee and will represent the high school graduating classes of 2023, 2024 and 2025. In addition to on-court drills and scrimmages, the athletes and their parents will participate a series of educational programs presented by USA Basketball and the NCAA.

On Sunday, April 3, athletes from the high school class of 2023 will take part in an intrasquad scrimmage on the court at the Caesars Superdome, site of the 2022 NCAA Men’s Final Four. Also Sunday, members of the classes of 2024 and 2025 will conduct an intrasquad scrimmage at the Ochsner Sports Performance Center, home of the NBA’s New Orleans Pelicans. Minicamp participants will also attend Saturday night’s semifinal games.

“USA Basketball always makes the most of opportunities to engage with young athletes,” said Sean Ford, committee chair and USA Basketball’s Men’s National Team director. “Junior national team minicamps give athletes and their families the opportunity to learn more about USA Basketball and our values in a competitive and educational environment.”

Minicamp coaches include USA Basketball veterans Dominic Amorosa (Strake Jesuit, Texas), Rob Brost (Bolingbrook H.S., Ill.), Marshall Cho (Lake Oswego H.S., Ore.), Eric Flannery (St. Edward H.S., Ohio), Nick LoGalbo (Lane Technical College Prep H.S., Ill.), Steve Turner (Gonzaga College H.S., DC), Sharman White (Pace Academy, Ga.) and Ras Vanderloo (Sioux City East H.S., Iowa).

Representing the class of 2023 are Marvel Allen (Calvary Christian Acad./South Bay, Fla.), Xavier Booker (Cathedral H.S./Indianapolis), Matt Bewley (Overtime Elite/Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Jordan Butler (Christ Church Episcopal School/Mauldin, S.C.), Matas Buzelis (Brewster Academy/ Chicago), Kanaan Carlyle (Milton H.S./Alpharetta, Ga.), Carlton Carrington III (St. Frances Academy/Baltimore), Isaiah Collier (Wheeler H.S./Marietta, Ga.), Jaylen Curry (Vance H.S./Charlotte), Dennis Evans III (Hillcrest H.S./Riverside, Calif.), Brandon Garrison (Del City H.S. / Del City, Okla.), Ron Holland (Duncanville H.S./Dallas), Gregory ‘GG’ Jackson (Ridge View H.S./Camden, S.C.), Jalen Lewis (Overtime Elite/Oakland, Calif.), Justin McBride (Plano Senior H.S./Plano, Texas), Jared McCain (Centennial H.S./Sacramento, Calif.), Arrinten Page (Wheeler H.S./Atlanta), Dennis Parker Jr. (John Marshall H.S./Richmond, Va.), Jaylin Stewart (Garfield H.S./Kent, Wash.), Sean Stewart (Windermere Prep/Windermere, Fla.), DaJuan Wagner Jr. (Camden H.S./Camden, N.J.), Ja’Kobe Walter (McKinney H.S./McKinney, Texas), Bryson Warren (Overtime Elite/Sherwood, Ark.) and Wesley Yates III (Beaumont United H.S./Beaumont, Texas).

Expected to attend from the class of 2024 are Marcus Allen (Miami Norland H.S./Miami), Karris Bilal (Riverwood H.S./Atlanta), James Brown (St. Rita/Aurora, Ill.), David Castillo (Bartlesville H.S./Bartlesville, Okla.), Naasir Cunningham (Gill St. Bernard’s H.S./West Orange, N.J.), Isaiah Elohim (Sierra Canyon H.S./North Hills, Calif.), Ian Jackson (Cardinal Hayes H.S./Bronx, N.Y.), Karter Knox (Tampa Catholic H.S./Tampa, Fla.), Liam McNeeley (John Paul II/Richardson, Texas), Vyctorius Miller (Crean Lutheran H.S./Pasadena, Calif.), Tahaad Pettiford (Hudson Catholic H.S./Jersey City, N.J.), Khani Rooths (Georgetown Prep/Washington D.C.) and Bryson Tucker (Mount Saint Joseph H.S./Bowie, Md.).

Castillo, Curry, Holland, Jackson, Lewis, McBride, McNeely and Tucker represented USA Basketball at the 2021 FIBA Americas U16 Championship, where the U.S. won its seventh consecutive U16 gold medal.

The class of 2025 will be represented by Cameron Boozer (Christopher Columbus H.S./Miami), Cayden Boozer (Christopher Columbus H.S./Miami), Cooper Flagg (Nokomis Regional/Newport, Maine), Jeremiah Green (Guyer H.S./Lantana, Texas), Isiah Harwell (Century H.S./Pocatello, Idaho), Koa Peat (Perry H.S./Atlanta), Darryn Peterson (Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy/Chandler, Ariz.), Meleek Thomas (Lincoln Park H.S./Pittsburgh) and Bryson Tiller (Pace Academy/Canton, Ohio).

Related Videos

While the game will not be played, a 14-member roster was announced for the 2021 USA Nike Hoop Summit Team. checks in with USA Junior National Team members Josh Christopher and Jeremy Roach.

Related Content

The October 2022 USA Basketball Junior National Team minicamp will take place Oct. 7-10 at the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Training Center in Colorado Springs.

The USA Basketball Men's U17 National Team defeated Lithuania 89-62 on Saturday, moving on to the final at the 2022 FIBA U17 World Cup.

The USA Basketball Men's U17 National Team defeated Lithuania 89-62 on Saturday, moving on to the final at the 2022 FIBA U17 World Cup.

The USA Men's U17 National Team advanced within two games of a gold medal on Friday by defeating Serbia 106-80 at the 2022 FIBA U17 World Cup.

  • Author:
    Drew Silverman, Red Line Editorial
  • Date:
    Jul 7, 2022

Johnuel “Boogie” Fland (second on the right), Ian Jackson (first on the right) build their bond on USA Basketball U17 National Team.

Coach Licensing & Organization Accreditation Login

Forgot Password?